Thank you for checking out my books! I write cozy mysteries, urban fantasy/paranormal mystery, and steampunk mystery and suspense. Below are the first books in each series.

The Perfectly Proper Paranormal Museum

Book 1 in The Perfectly Proper Paranormal Museum Cozy Mysteries

When Maddie Kosloski’s career flatlines, she retreats to her wine-country hometown for solace and cheap rent. Railroaded into managing the local paranormal museum, she’s certain the rumors of its haunting are greatly exaggerated.


But a new ghost may be on the loose, and a fresh corpse in the museum embroils Maddie in murders past and present.


“A quirky murder mystery with plenty of small town charm.”—ForeWord Reviews


The Alchemical Detective

Book 1 in the Riga Hayworth paranormal mysteries.

Her gargoyle’s got an attitude.

Her magic’s on the blink.

Alchemy might be the cure…

If Riga can survive long enough to puzzle out its mysteries.

Someone’s killing psychics in bucolic Lake Tahoe, and the police think Riga may be connected to the crimes.

They could be right, because Riga recognizes the sinister hand of a long-dead enemy in the crime scene. Juggling demons, daimons, and a devilish casino owner, can this metaphysical detective catch a killer before she becomes the next target?

You’ll love this twisty paranormal mystery, because this complicated, 40-something heroine isn’t like the others...

Start reading now!

The Quiche and the Dead

Book 1 in the Pie Town cozy mysteries.

Is Val's breakfast pie the quiche of death?
Owning her own business seemed like pie in the sky to Valentine Harris when she moved to the coastal California town of San Nicholas, expecting to start a new life with her fiancé. Five months—and a broken engagement—later, at least her dream of opening a pie shop has become a reality. But when one of her regulars keels over at the counter while eating a quiche, Val feels like she's living a nightmare.
After the police determine the customer was poisoned, business at Pie Town drops faster than a fallen crust. Convinced they’re both suspects, Val's flaky, seventy-something pie crust maker Charlene drags her boss into some amateur sleuthing. At first Val dismisses Charlene’s half-baked hypotheses, but before long the ladies uncover some shady dealings hidden in fog-bound San Nicholas. Now Val must expose the truth—before a crummy killer tries to shut her pie hole.

Steeped in Murder

Book 1 in the Tea and Tarot cozy mysteries.

Tea, tarot, and trouble.

Abigail Beanblossom’s dream of owning a tea room in her California beach town is about to come true. She’s got the lease, the start-up funds, and the recipes. But Abigail's out of a tearoom and into hot water when her realtor turns out to be a conman… and then turns up dead.

But not even death puts an end to the conman’s mischief. He rented the same space to a tarot reader, Hyperion Night. Convinced his tarot room is in the cards, Night’s not letting go of the building without a fight.

But the two must work together, steeping themselves in the murky waters of the sham realtor's double dealings, in order to unearth the truth – before murder boils over again.

Buy the book to start this hilarious caper today.

Recipes in the back of the book!


Book 1 in the The Witches of Doyle cozy mysteries.

Bound by magic, bound by love, bound by murder…

The Bonheim triplets live seemingly ordinary lives, hiding their magic from their neighbors in the small, mountain town of Doyle, California. But then a body is found in flighty, big sister Jayce’s coffee shop. Confronted by a sheriff with a grudge, a sister in denial, and a sexy lawyer with an agenda of his own, no-nonsense Karin must prove her sister innocent.

But as Karin works to unravel the murder, the knottier the mystery of her small mountain town becomes. Why are hikers vanishing in the nearby woods? Why are some people cursed with bad luck and others with good? And what is Jayce’s lawyer hiding?

With her sister’s fate hanging by a thread, Karin struggles to untangle the truth, and death stalks ever closer…

Knot magic spells at the back of the book!

Follow the magic with the Doyle Witch trilogy, starting with book 1, Bound. Each full-length novel has its own complete mystery and romance told from a different sister’s point of view, and Bound, Down and Ground can all be enjoyed independently, with a magical storyline weaving through the three books.


Read Bound and escape into the enchanting world of Doyle today.

At Wits' End

Book 1 in the Wits' End cozy mystery series, and a non-magical spin-off of the Witches of Doyle.


A cozy mystery that’s out of this world…

When Susan Witsend inherits her grandmother’s UFO-themed B&B, she’s ready to put her organizational skills to the test. She knows she can make the B&B work, even if there is a faux-UFO in the roof. After all, what’s not to love about a Victorian nestled in the high Sierra foothills?

None of her carefully crafted policies and procedures, however, can prepare her for a corpse in room seven – the body of her small-town sheriff’s ex-husband. Good thing Susan has her own plans to solve the crime.

In Susan’s mind, Men in Black, conspiracy-crazed old ladies, and an angry sheriff are just part and parcel of catering to UFO enthusiasts. But is there a government conspiracy afoot? Or is the murder a simple case of small-town vengeance?

Susan must keep all her wits about her. Because the killer isn’t finished, and if she isn’t careful, her fate may be written in the stars…

Beam up this hilarious cozy mystery today!

Breakfast recipes in the back of the book.

The Mannequin Offensive

This is a standalone (for now) urban fantasy mystery.

Rocky Bridges just wants to forget.


But a Viking spirit won’t let her forgive.

After the man she was hired to protect is killed overseas, all Rocky wants is to be done with the global security business.


No more personal protection gigs.


No more jaunts to third world countries.


No more managing wayward contractors.

Then her business partner is murdered in her home town, and Rocky must investigate her own company and clients.

Rocky’s no PI, but she’s always trusted her instincts. Knife-wielding mobsters, sexy insurance investigators, and a Russian-model turned business partner are all in a day’s work. But when her inner voice develops a mind of its own, she finds herself questioning her sanity and the very nature of reality.

Rocky can’t trust those around her. But can she trust herself?

If you like fast-paced supernatural suspense, you’ll love The Mannequin Offensive. Buy this urban fantasy today!

Steam and Sensibility

The first book in the Sensibility Grey steampunk mystery/suspense series!

Steam rising.

California Territory, 1848.

Steam-powered technology is still in its infancy.

Gold has been discovered, emptying the village of San Francisco of its male population.

And newly arrived immigrant, Englishwoman Sensibility Grey, is alone.

Sensibility has spent her life tinkering in her father’s laboratory and missing the finer points of proper British life. But when her father dies in penury, she’s shipped to San Francisco and to the protection of an uncle she’s never met.

The territory may hold more dangers than even the indomitable Miss Grey can manage. Pursued by government agents, a secret society, and the enigmatic Mr. Krieg Night, Sensibility must decipher the clockwork secrets in her father’s final journal, unaware she’ll change the world forever.

If you love over-the-top characters, twisty mysteries, and complicated heroines, you'll love STEAM AND SENSIBILITY, a proto-Steampunk novel of suspense set in the wild west of the California gold rush.

Start reading now!

© 2015 - 2020 Kirsten Weiss. Proudly created with