The Magic of Words and Unbound Cover Reveal

My cover designer is a saint.


It is shockingly hard to try to explain how you want a cover to look. I'm a writer. I describe things for a living. But there is no way to acurately put the images in my head into words so that the artist will "see" in her head what I "see" in mine.


So she'll design a cover, and we'll go back and forth until it's close enough. (What I have in my head is often unworkable, so I'll take "close enough").


But the impossibility of describing something so the reader will see it exactly the way you do, is also the magic of stories. I write a description. You read the description. But ultimately, what you see in your head is a collaboration between my words and your imagination. In that sense, not only is every story unique (hopefully), but the experience of reading a book is unique to each reader. If thousands of people read a Riga Hayworth story, that isn't one unique story--it's thousands, a unique story in every reader's head.


It makes me feel much more productive.


Anyway, here's the cover for Unbound, my Riga Hayworth/Doyle Witches crossover novel. And I have to say, my designer got pretty close on her first shot.


Unbound cover

Three Witches and a Metaphysical Detective…


Riga just wants to mentor three young witches and go home. Doyle witch Jayce wouldn’t take help if it landed on her. But when a man is murdered in front of their eyes, these two must learn to work together. Because a dead man is the least of their worries…


Jayce Bonheim loves magic and Doyle, California. But she and her small town have been paying a deadly price for the fairy gate she and her sisters can’t close. Now, a society of dark magicians has returned to town, a deadly winged monster has come through the gate, and an old friend has been murdered. And the new mentor who’s supposed to help Jayce and her sisters seems to have an agenda of her own…


It was supposed to be a simple training gig for Riga Hayworth, not a murder investigation. Still reeling from a tragic mistake in her past, she’s determined to stay retired. But the murder and the town’s magic seem tied together. Can Riga resist the lure of an investigation?


A thrilling and funny paranormal mystery, packed with magic, mystery, and murder. Perfect for fans of Mercy Thompson, Supernatural, and Charlaine Harris. Pre-orderUnbound today.


Amazon | Apple Books | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | Google Play